ALMOST made a big mistake...

Cappy

Oct 30, 2014
Hey all I am new to this forum so I figured I would tackle two things at once and introduce myself, as well as tell you an ALMOST fluke. So my name is Jay, originally from Maine but now in Wyoming by way of Colorado. I have been biking my whole life, since I was three years old. When I was younger I broke many bones dirt jumping and downhilling. Recently I have decided I have too many screws in my body for DH (although I still ride my KHS Descent FXT every day lol) and have decided to take the plunge into road biking.

I spent a term as an aircraft mechanic in the USAF, three years machining in the aerospace industry, and have my AA degree in welding/metallurgy, so am familiar with mechanics and metals and whatnot.

So now for the ALMOST fluke. I had myself believing that the methods of frame production these days are probably better and cheaper than they used to be due to the 'trickle-down' effect, and that, if carefully studied, i might find a decent bike to start on on a dept. store website. I will be honest, I wanted to see if i could better the folks that knock on these bikes without ever having ridden them, and I was hoping to find a diamond in the rough. SO, what I came across was the Schwinn Varsity 1500. Looked like a decent base frame to start from, although it was impossible to find out whether or not the frame was butted anywhere, which was unnerving to say the least. I swallowed my pride, having never even entertained the idea of a big box bike in my entire life, and bought it.