Almost Ready to give up Commuting - Options?

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Theophanc_yahoo

Hi All - I want to continue to ride but need some options...

I have been commuting to work (occasionally) for about 10 years on a Trek = 1200 Road Bike fitting
with a rear Rack. The ride is 16 mile One-Way which= takes +/- hour.

The first few years I had (1) Flat, the past couple weeks I have had 5!! - = all from road glass
which I never saw coming.

After the first two I replaced the tubes with those "Thorn Resistant" - It = took a bigger piece of
glass but they gave out. The final try was "Slime" = which sealed somewhat but did not hold air.
Both of these are EXTREMELY Ha= rd for me to replace and make me late for work (Boo hoo)

Option 1: I have a mountain style Bike but it is heavy and would probably add 10-15 m= inutes to my
ride. Grin and bear it?

Option 2: Get a different style bike that has bigger tires - Hybird?

Other Options.... Stone wheels -:)

_theophan

In article <E0%[email protected]>, [email protected] says...
> Hi All - I want to continue to ride but need some options...
>
> I have been commuting to work (occasionally) for about 10 years on a Trek 1200 Road Bike fitting
> with a rear Rack. The ride is 16 mile One-Way which takes +/- hour.
>
> The first few years I had (1) Flat, the past couple weeks I have had 5!! - all from road glass
> which I never saw coming.
>
> After the first two I replaced the tubes with those "Thorn Resistant" - It took a bigger piece of
> glass but they gave out. The final try was "Slime" which sealed somewhat but did not hold air.
> Both of these are EXTREMELY Hard for me to replace and make me late for work (Boo hoo)
>
> Option 1: I have a mountain style Bike but it is heavy and would probably add 10-15 minutes to my
> ride. Grin and bear it?
>
> Option 2: Get a different style bike that has bigger tires - Hybird?
>
> Other Options.... Stone wheels -:)

Solid tires? They do exist.

--