Aluminum tiagra vs carbon 105

tdcadillac

Jul 1, 2020
Hello guys,

I found a Ridley 105 carbon around $2.3K and the Davinci 105 carbon around the same price and I am debating buying one of them instead of cannondale synapse tiagra aluminium
I read that cannondale synapse are great bike and want to know if sacrificing 105 for the tiagra is worth-ed.
I am new to biking and will be using the bike mainly for training and one race a year in the future. Don't want to end up having a bike for one year and be forced to sell it as it will not fulfill my need in the future
appreciate your feedback to know if I am doing the right choice to have 105 in carbon bike or go cannondale synapse aluminium with tiagra.
Thanks a bunch to all

As long as a bike fits well, has 105, I'd do it! I have 105 on my 2005 bike and still going strong. Never once a problem while keeping it adjusted and lubed. Figure I have over 30,000 miles on it and only ever changed cables which is normal wear and tear.

Reactions: tdcadillac
Yup, I bought my bike originally in 2005. Frame snapped, frame replacement. Had 13,000 miles on it.

Another 4 years and another 13,000 miles, another broken frame and frame swap.

Current frame, 15,000 miles, not broken yet! :D

So I figure over 41,000 miles and the 105 is still working great!

I only replaced the cables during the frame swap and one other time as the cable wore.

That is why I would go with 105 any day!