Am I overtraining? Fairly new to road cycling).

Roadracerash1

Jun 30, 2011
Hi guys I've got this dilemma. As i'm relatively new to this way of life (cause its more than a hobby)/img/vbsmilies/smilies/ROTF.gif I'm not a hundred percent sure about a few things. I'm probably not the first to admit this but i take near about every opportunity to go out on my road bike. As i've just left college and i don't start my apprenticeship until two months time I've formed this daily habit of doing one- two hours in the gym (upper body and core work outs) and then roughly 35-40 miles of cycling a day. I've been doing this for two weeks and over the last 48 hours I've noticed a few things. I'm sorry for the next couple of sentances which explain some quite detailed problems but the following has started occuring:
  • Im constantly sore everywhere. Especially my gluteus (Saddle soreness).
  • I've been noding off at 7pm when i usually fall to sleep at 10 ish.
  • My bowel movements have been eractic: as in the frequency and other things are different concerning that area.
  • My performance is not improving: still doing my average 13 mph up some moderately steep hills and i cant seem to push myself anymore even though i know i could.
  • I've dropped down from 76KG down to 72/73KG in under two weeks even though i'm increasing my protein and Carb intake with sports suppliments.

There are a few other things but i rather not put them down.

Do you think its down to overtraining? I say this as last year when i had my school hols I did something similar but i never had such adverse effects.

Thanks

2 weeks ain't overtraining. It's fatigue. Try 80% of your current volume for a week, then do another hard 2.

Yeah that's not overtraining. One day off ought to fix things up. If you want to keep riding every day take one or two days a week very easy (so it feels like you are almost soft pedalling).

Originally Posted by Roadracerash1 .