An old bicycle for a commuter - bad idea?

mrksf

Dec 31, 2012
I'm relatively new to the world of bicycles. I have cycled for the last 3 years on a single speed opa fiets. Now I looking to buy a more serious commuter.

My question is, is it advisable to buy a new, modern bicycle, rather than a classic frame road bike? There appear to be a lot of classic framed used bicycles for sale, but I have slight concerns about reliability and maintenance.

My requirements for a commuter are:
- sporty geometry (preferably diamond, squared)
- capable of carrying a single bag (work bag)
- light enough to lift onto a train in a hurry
- quick and nimble - the commute is only 30 mins each way.

Thanks!

Personally, the only requirement would be that the bike fits and is in good working order. If you are going used, try to ask a friend who knows bikes or at the very least post some pictures for forum members to comment on before you buy. You will certainly get some feedback about fair deals, things to avoid, etc.

But if a bike has been well maintained, regardless of how old, it should be able to hold up to most commuter use/abuse.

mrksf said:
I'm relatively new to the world of bicycles. I have cycled for the last 3 years on a single speed opa fiets. Now I looking to buy a more serious commuter. My question is, is it advisable to buy a new, modern bicycle, rather than a classic frame road bike? There appear to be a lot of classic framed used bicycles for sale, but I have slight concerns about reliability and maintenance. My requirements for a commuter are: - sporty geometry (preferably diamond, squared) [COLOR=FF00AA]road bike[/COLOR] - capable of carrying a single bag (work bag) [COLOR=FF00AA]road bike with eyelets for a rack[/COLOR] - light enough to lift onto a train in a hurry [COLOR=FF00AA]road bike[/COLOR] - quick and nimble - the commute is only 30 mins each way. [COLOR=FF00AA]road bike[/COLOR] Thanks!