ANOTHER new cyclist seeking advice!

volfro

Jul 30, 2006
Hello everybody!

I see these forums are rife with newbies looking for tips. Hopefully at some point I can dispense advice, but for now I'm seeking it.

I used to run regularly, but have recently become interested in biking, as running began hurting my knees in the last year or so--not a good sign at all, for a healthy 22-year-old guy.

Thing is, though, that as I read more and more about bicycling, the more fascinated I become and the more I want to be a part of it.

So I'm looking for a road bike. There aren't all that many offroad trails near my home, so for the sake of practicality, a road bike it is.

I'm 5' 10" and 165 lbs, so I guess I'm pretty average when it comes to build.

I'm a student, so the budget is relatively small: I'd prefer to spend less than $500.

My real question is this: I see road bikes on craigslist in my area (near Atlanta, GA, USA) quite frequently, many of which are within my budget constraints, but I don't know enough to judge whether I should be buying. What's the general consensus here when it comes to used bikes? I don't want the most up-to-date or lightweight bike around; I just want something that can get me into the sport and still be of relatively high quality, even if it's a few years (and miles) old.

While we're at it, are there any recommendations for new bikes in that price/size range? Or, for that matter, is anybody here interested in selling their used bike?

I've yet to talk to my LBS--there are several--but I found this first and am eager to gather more knowledge on the subject.

Last question: the beginner's guide here on the forums is incomplete, as far as I could find...does anybody here know of a good beginner's guide that I can read? Or any road cycling guide, for that matter.

Thanks ahead of time for any and all help!!

Alrighty folks, went to my LBS today and asked around.