Another quitting story

jeep floyd

Jan 24, 2007
I’ve been riding a bike (road and mountain) for some years in the past, I have found at the hard way that developing better skills is not as simple as pedal as hard and long as you can as often as possible…. I started riding a mountain bike by doctor’s recommendation after a kidney stone surgery 6 years ago, I liked it so much that I started to ride almost everyday, of course very light rides, then I went to road biking and loved it to… after some time I started to see improvements in my body resistance and started to leave the leaders behind (not professionals, just a pack of friends) we made some 30-40 miles rides occasionally and everything seems to be perfect, I thought I was ready for the tour de France….Than I switch jobs and had a co-worker that is an actual thri-athlete, in the first ride with him I came back to earth, after the first half mile I never saw him again until he was coming back. After some advices from him I discovered the heart rate monitor, the 5 zones and the meaning of them. I got the most simple polar Heart rate monitor and started to follow a very simple program where I started to ride at 90 RPM at different levels of the heart zones, I was very discipline during a couple of months, that year I won a bet to a friend (he was self claimed the king of spinning) as he won some resistance contest at his gym (like 3 hours marathon of spinning class), that year we ran the Rosarito Ensenada 50 mile race, I got 32 minutes earlier than him to the finish line (Apr 2005). This is the last ride I can remember, after that I started to get lazy and gain some pounds, I fall into a depression lapse without any apparently reason, I started at different gyms weight lifting, spinning, boxing, yoga and so on, I never last more than 2 days or classes…. during this last year nothing seems to be motivational enough to continue. I received a visit from a friend a month ago, we used to play in a rock band some years