Anxious about getting myself off the paved bike trails and into the "real" world

lifeonbicycles

Apr 3, 2013
I have been biking on the local paved bike trails for about 2 years now. There are many miles of them but I am insanely bored of them now. I feel like I have gained a decent amount of skills about how to deal with cars because I practice on the road in a 6 mile loop at my local park. Even with all of this I am very anxious/nervous to go onto real roads; I am wondering how scary the shoulder would be with drivers whizzing by you at 40 M.P.H and going through intersections. They would not be urban roads but average-traffic ural roads.Any suggestions to a newb road rider?

Originally Posted by lifeonbicycles .

I have been biking on the local paved bike trails for about 2 years now. There are many miles of them but I am insanely bored of them now. I feel like I have gained a decent amount of skills about how to deal with cars because I practice on the road in a 6 mile loop at my local park. Even with all of this I am very anxious/nervous to go onto real roads; I am wondering how scary the shoulder would be with drivers whizzing by you at 40 M.P.H and going through intersections. They would not be urban roads but average-traffic ural roads.Any suggestions to a newb road rider?
stick with quiet roads, wear bight coloured clothing, maybe use a rear flasher and don't make the mistake of riding in the gutter.

Originally Posted by ambal .

stick with quiet roads, wear bight coloured clothing, maybe use a rear flasher and don't make the mistake of riding in the gutter.
+1, just get out there and ride.