Any ideas what this Trek bike is? Buying advice!

jroberts147

Feb 13, 2012
Hi,

I'm very new to road cycling and just about to buy my first road bike. I've got quite a tight budget and ideally only want to spend around £500 on a good used bike (58cm-60cm).

I've been offered this Trek Discovery Channel bike for £500. It's pretty much mint condition.

Does anyone have any ideas as to what model it is? I know it's hard just from a picture, but any help would be much appreciated.

Do you think this would be a good start off bike?

Also, should I be buying a very expensive pair of Specialized carbon road shoes or will a basic pair suffice for what will be fairly short road rides?

Many thanks,
John.

Attachments

• IMG_0076.PNG
    IMG_0076.PNG
    769 KB · Views: 28
Trek painted a lot of bikes with that paint like a standard Trek 1000, a 1500, or the Madone 5.9sl, and probably others with the Discovery Channel paint job to make it look like the bike that Lancelot Armstrong used in the TDF. So you need to get the real model and then determine if the bike is worth it. I would not pay more for the bike then whatever the actual model is worth just because of some paint job that duplicates what Lancelot rode.

Originally Posted by jroberts147 .

I'm very new to road cycling and just about to buy my first road bike. I've got quite a tight budget and ideally only want to spend around £500 on a good used bike (58cm-60cm).

I've been offered this Trek Discovery Channel bike for £500. It's pretty much mint condition.

Does anyone have any ideas as to what model it is? I know it's hard just from a picture, but any help would be much appreciated.

Do you think this would be a good start off bike?

Also, should I be buying a very expensive pair of Specialized carbon road shoes or will a basic pair suffice for what will be fairly short road rides?
FWIW. It's a good bike at a fair price (IMO).