Any tips to train for a 25 mile race?

bikerwannabee

Sep 2, 2003
It's a triathlon relay and I'm doing the cycling leg. The course is defined as "fast and flat". Some info about me: I'm new to cycling and have about 350 miles for this summer so far using a 2004 OCR1, 6'3" 206lbs, my routine has been a route that is 19-20 miles long with one or two small hills - I do this about three times a week but it's becoming boring.

I need some advice on what things I should be doing for a great time on this 25 miler. For example, should I be avoiding hills? Would you scope out the route prior to the big day? The race is Aug13. Thanks.

Here is the route: http://www.turtleman.org/courses.phtml

Look at the results from last years race. Most folks were in the 21-24mph average. I'd work on riding for time and distance that is as close to those numbers as I could....

L

bikerwannabee said:
It's a triathlon relay and I'm doing the cycling leg. The course is defined as "fast and flat". Some info about me: I'm new to cycling and have about 350 miles for this summer so far using a 2004 OCR1, 6'3" 206lbs, my routine has been a route that is 19-20 miles long with one or two small hills - I do this about three times a week but it's becoming boring.

I need some advice on what things I should be doing for a great time on this 25 miler. For example, should I be avoiding hills? Would you scope out the route prior to the big day? The race is Aug13. Thanks.

Here is the route: http://www.turtleman.org/courses.phtml