Anyone everh have stiches (pain in RUQ?)

OoAmericanGirl

Aug 2, 2006
I have been having sharp pains just under my ribs on my right side when I run/bike. There is no indication that these pains are going to present and there seems to be no pattern. I can be pain free for months, but then suddenly it starts and it doesn’t go away for week or two. I've read up on these and there is no cure, it just "happens". I'm not doing anything new in my daily workouts and I've been doing the same workout for about 2 years. It started Sunday and is now adding an extra 2 min to my run time and I have to constantly get off the bike and wait for the pain to go away.

Does anyone have the same problem or have any tips on alleviating the pain
confused.gif
?

OoAmericanGirl said:
I have been having sharp pains just under my ribs on my right side when I run/bike. There is no indication that these pains are going to present and there seems to be no pattern. I can be pain free for months, but then suddenly it starts and it doesn’t go away for week or two. I've read up on these and there is no cure, it just "happens". I'm not doing anything new in my daily workouts and I've been doing the same workout for about 2 years. It started Sunday and is now adding an extra 2 min to my run time and I have to constantly get off the bike and wait for the pain to go away.

Does anyone have the same problem or have any tips on alleviating the pain
confused.gif
?
believe this or not, but when I was younger and trying to do the jogging thing, I would always get a stich... I found that if I stopped for a few seconds to do a "complete breath" kind of exercise, it would go away.

of course you also must make sure that you are well hydrated because a stich is really a diaphragm muscle cramp... you might also try taking a tums (supposedly, the magnesium/calcium helps alleviate cramps...)