Anyone out of shape and late starting their season?

juf2m

Aug 2, 2004
It seems like everyone on this forum is thin, fit, and cycles morning noon and night in all weather. It's very depressing. ;)

My boyfriend and I should have started cycling in early April or maybe sooner, but one thing or another prevented us from starting until yesterday! :eek: We are fat and out of shape.

Anyone else want to join an out of shape support group? LOL!

juf2m said:
It seems like everyone on this forum is thin, fit, and cycles morning noon and night in all weather. It's very depressing. ;)

My boyfriend and I should have started cycling in early April or maybe sooner, but one thing or another prevented us from starting until yesterday! :eek: We are fat and out of shape.

Me. I'm still acting like it's early December. :(

juf2m said:
Count me in. I just did my first ride of the season yesterday. I'm not exactly fat, as I've been running stairs for two months and lost 10 pounds. My excuse was waiting for my new bike to arrive. For the rest of the season my excuse can be breaking in the new bike.

Not fat, but certainly out of shape. The gap between the xc ski and cycling seasons hit me pretty hard this year. Plus the weather hasn't really been aligning itself with my schedule lately. It seems whenever I get a day off from work it's cold and raining, and to be honest I just don't care enough to ride in 40 degree rain. Fortunately my semester ends next week and I can be much more flexible about work times.

I'm sitting at about 500 miles so far. I was just starting to feel like I was coming out of my winter slug-dom when the cold weather came back. We got 4 inches of snow on Sunday, and now it's upper 40s/low 50s and rain. Argh!

juf2m said:
I'd join your group, but since I'm your boyfriend, it probably means that I'm already a member by default. :(