Anyone use a trainer and rollers?

ecandl

Sep 20, 2006
I have been using my KK trainer for a few years and think it is great. Lately, I have gotten the bug to try rollers for varieties sake. Would that be a waste of money? I was thinking of hard intervals on the trainer and tempo and recovery rides on the rollers. Should I give rollers a try or just stick with my trainer?

I've never had a trainer, but I recently invested in a roller system and I am very impressed with the performance and resistance they can offer. With the gearing on your bike, you should be able to increase resistance a great deal. I have not had the roller system for very long, but suspect it will be a long time before I feel I can coast on them or use them as a recovery ride just yet. I suspect this will improve as my fitness level increases. I guess what I'm saying is give them a try. You'll be glad you did it!

I was convinced to give them a try by some roller users and I'm glad I did. It will keep your brain busy I had to shut the music off when I started. I bought 3.5 inch rollers and they have been great but I would get slightly smaller drums next time to increase resistance.

If it keeps you riding during the winter months - go for it.

I've been riding Kreitler Alloy's with "Killer" headwind + flywheel for about a dozen yerars now. I like them.

Dave

i have Kreitlers with killer headwind fan for resistance and i can do all my workouts on them except for sprinting.. i wouldn't mind trying a pair of e-motion rollers, but my wife would kill me if she saw yet another a big cycling purchase like that come through the door any time soon... especially when i sold her on the higher cost of the Kreitlers because 'they will last forever' but the e-motions look pretty cool and you can apparently even sprint on them.