As a newb I must say...

Awesome Jenn

Aug 24, 2009
I'm not sure how to start bicycling xD I've learned that just throwing myself at it might not be the best idea. Due to transportation situation, I have decided to start biking to work everyday (making the total journey about 6 mi). To all you experienced people, that may seem like nothing, but for me, a nerdy girl who has a sedentary job, it's pretty straining...I was wondering if you guys would help me by saying what I should do to make the trip a little easier!

What I know from day one:
-Don't wear jeans =3=
-Drink and eat before you go
-Stretch before you go biking?

Any advice is appreciated =3

Be prepared for weather changes, maybe you are using a backpack but if not you can always roll up a raincoat, windbreaker etc and stash it in your bottle cage in a cut off water bottle or plastic bag. .
Eating before is optional for me depending on the ride.
Get yourself a few tools including tire levers,an extra tube,a hand pump or co2 cartridges,a pouch to carry them in and most of all learn to use them and change a tube.
Six mile a water bottle is optional but you need a helmet unless you have a very hard skull.
Keep your chain and gears clean and lubricated and your tire pressure up.
Maybe I will start a thread with tips for mewbies that everyone can contribute to.;)

jhuskey said:
Be prepared for weather changes, maybe you are using a backpack but if not you can always roll up a raincoat, windbreaker etc and stash it in your bottle cage in a cut off water bottle or plastic bag. .
Eating before is optional for me depending on the ride.
Get yourself a few tools including tire levers,an extra tube,a hand pump or co2 cartridges,a pouch to carry them in and most of all learn to use them and change a tube.
Six mile a water bottle is optional but you need a helmet unless you have a very hard skull.
Keep your chain and gears clean and lubricated and your tire pressure up.