At What Age Did You Start

LinB

Sep 8, 2015
At what age did you start cycling? I must have been about 11 years old when I started. It wasn't a family affair for me really...I just got up one day and said: "Mom, you need to get me a bike".Well, she didn't hesitate. I've been cycling since then.

18 years old in 1972. I was a college freshman coming back from a serious near death injury and resultant emergency surgery. I started on a borrowed 1970 Schwinn Continental to try and regain my fitness within a few weeks I was hooked and bought my own new Schwinn Continental. A few weeks later I rode the 210-mile TOSRV tour.

I rode a few miles here and there as a kid, but more for transportation than as a sport. As a sport, I started at 48.

When I was a kid I already know how to use a bike. I was in my twenties when I started going long miles exploring other places and cities.

I don't remember the age anymore but I started with my serious riding when I was past 30. That was the time I was starting to gain excess weight and a friend suggested biking as an activity. We would be going to parks where there are bikes for rent and together with the kids, I would bike for an hour or 2 in the morning. When we had nothing much to do at home, we would stay in the park until afternoon so I could ride again for an hour.

I became a fan of competitive downhill mountain biking aged about 8 or 9 as my cousin, who was a few years older than me, was already competing in local events. I had been riding my bike for as long as I could remember, but I had to wait until my thirteenth birthday before I got my first mountain bike and was allowed to ride in the competitions. My Dad said to me 'If you smash that bike up racing down a hill like a fool you won't get another one'. I rode that bike in about 200 events and it retired in perfect working order a few years later.

I started around 8 or 9 I believe, maybe a little older.