Australiian dersert nights

Discussion in 'Touring and recreational cycling' started by BlueTwo, Jan 27, 2005.

1. BlueTwo

BlueTwo New Member

Hi ,,,I am planning a circumnavigation of Australia in Jan 2006 ,, Sydney to Perth and around to Sydney ,,,In many other countries the derest is cold at night ,, I have a 5 degree C sleeping bag with a therarest pad and a Tarn 2 tent ,from MEC.CA ,, any info on night time temps would be appreciated,from the various regions ,, I hope to be in summer all the time ,at least Canadian summer 20 C at day and 12 C at night,west coast style which is mostly wet and cold like New Zealand,,

looking for partners ,outback excurtions and a very loose timeline

Bluetwo ,,Vancouver,Canada

Tags:

2. HughMann

HughMann New Member

Hi

First thing you need to check is the prevailing wind. Most people travel anti-clockwise ( ie. Sydney, Brisbane, Townsville, Mt Isa, Darwin etc.) and do it in winter/early spring. Even the caravans and camper vans do it anti clockwise to save fuel.
    At the time you plan to ride its cyclone season in the top half of OZ. From about Rockhampton on east coast around to about Port Headland on west coast can have some pretty bad weather. Speaking of weather day time temps will regularly reach 45 c (113 F ) especially up north and accross the Nularbour between Norseman and Port Augusta. Night temps can go down to 5 c once you get away from the coast in desert areas.
    WATER will be a huge problem. From Broome to Port Headland is 1100km and there is only ONE gas station between!

Eugen did it in 55 days last year to set a new unassisted solo record. Even in late winter the temps were high and he did most of the top half of the continent riding at night.

See:
    http://www.aa56.net/Default.aspx?tabid=26

Why not think about staying in the south for Jan/Feb/Mar. Lots of good riding, places to see, friends to meet before heading north and into a bit more moderate weather.