Average Speeds?????

Chuck Jazz

Aug 29, 2006
I am relatively new to road cycling this is my first real season. I am a teacher so I have the summer off and have been riding a fair amount 150-175 miles a week. Doing this along with some strength and weight training and a new diet I lost 15 pounds and increased my lactate threshold dramatically. my question is regarding average speed and training. My average rides are 35-40 MILE(sorry I am an American who just can't relate to the whole KM thing) efforts. These rides usually have three or four (depending on the route) climbs of 2-4 miles at 5-6% grade. I don't go out and pound flats just to say wow look how fast I am. I have increased my average speed from 13.9 miles an hour in May to 17 Miles and hour now(August) and feel like I have made huge gains. The pro's are riding upper 20's on a route that is equivalant. Training a 150-175 miles per week can i get any faster our do i need to ride more? Also what is a respectable speed for a club rider? I wonder if a Bike upgrade would make a difference I ride a Specialized Allez the base model it was new this season and its my first real road bike is it possible to outgrow a bike in one season in terms of training and skill? Just looking for some help!

Thanks

Chuck Jazz said: