[b]newbie Having Training Problems[/b]

sunfire67

Feb 21, 2004
I am a newbie to cycling and have just started this summer, I am 32 196lbs. My rides have been only been around 30-40mins and covering a distance between 15-20kms, and my average speed is around 27kph. Hopefully will get longer!!!

I've have been trying to do heart rate training and have figured my max heart rate to be 188. When I have been cycling my heart rate average is around 170, to me this seems a little high, if I slow down my heart rate drops but I don't feel like I'm getting a work out. When I have to climb a hill my rate rate jumps to the 180's and if it is a real steep hill into the low 190's and I have to stop and rest because I get exhausted.

Can anyone help me with what type of trainging I should be doing and the speeds and heart rates I should stay around.

Thanks Dave (Waterdown, ON)

Thanks for the replys from my previous post. My training objectives at this point would be weight lose, cardiovascular/endurance training. I did a triathlon last summer and this year have just become to busy to train for them so I have decided to just try biking to get in shape for next year. My problem I find is that I want to 26 kms per hour but my heart rate is higher then it should be. I am wondering should I rely on cadence/rpm rather then speed to get my heart rate in the proper area?

Dave

Dave,

As your fitness increases, your HR will decrease for given efforts. I wouldn't worry about this stuff too much until you get a few thousand miles under your wheels. If riding by HR, I would try not to ride above a certain HR (70-85%)unless you're having to climb hills and such. Pick a zone and stick with it.

Good luck and keep going!!
L

the 220-age formula for max heart rate is only accurate statistically, and you're not a statistic. You may have a max hr that's above that number. If you've seen heart rates in the low 190s on hills, then had to stop, there's where your real max is.