Back wheel stolen

nickid

Sep 1, 2005
:(
I've had my back wheel stolen on NYE - not a great way to ring 2006 in. After a couple of days of ignoring the problem, I've just rang the bike shop. They reckon it will cost $200 to get it replaced. Can this be right?
Does anybody have any advice on an alternative. I am a student, so I'd appreciate a cheap alternative. Can I replace it myself, is there a cheap place in Sydney etc...

OK, slow down, don't panic.

What is the bike? Road, MTB? Brand? Model? Speeds Cassette or spin on? Tyre?

Someone reading may have one that fits.

Do you have contents insurance?

gclark8 said:
OK, slow down, don't panic.

What is the bike? Road, MTB? Brand? Model? Speeds Cassette or spin on? Tyre?

Someone reading may have one that fits.

Do you have contents insurance?

Thanks for replying. It's a Mongoose Switchback Mountain Bike, bought in 1999. The tyre is 26" by 1.95". The gears are Shimano Altus - 21 speed. I think that is a speeds cassette.No insurance

OK, we ae looking for a 26" MTB wheel, 135mm drop out, 7 speed spin on cartridge, and a suitable tyre.

These replacement wheels come from BiCorp and other wholsalers around $50-75,
a replacement spin on (MF-HG50 11-13-15-18-21-24-28) from Shimano, $40-50,
tyre and tube, $15-25.
However many of the readers will have old ones in the shed, I gave one away last year!

gclark8 said:
OK, we ae looking for a 26" MTB wheel, 135mm drop out, 7 speed spin on cartridge, and a suitable tyre.

These replacement wheels come from BiCorp and other wholsalers around $50-75,
a replacement spin on (MF-HG50 11-13-15-18-21-24-28) from Shimano, $40-50,
tyre and tube, $15-25.
However many of the readers will have old ones in the shed, I gave one away last year!

George, thanks for your help. Its been real useful. I've been hunting around for these things in the Trading Post/ ebay, and I'm sure I'll be up and riding soon

Ta

nickid said:
:(