Base Miles

tdl123321

Mar 26, 2006
What are your thoughts on "base miles." While, I am still very new to cycling it seems some swear by them, while others dismiss them as wasted time. What are your thoughts?

tdl123321 said:
What are your thoughts on "base miles." While, I am still very new to cycling it seems some swear by them, while others dismiss them as wasted time. What are your thoughts?
Personally, I dismiss them as wasted time, although others seem to swear by them. ;)

I think part of the problem is that the term 'base miles', like 'tempo', 'threshold' and others, are tossed about without much regard for consistent use and meaning. While most people have probably heard or used the terms themselves, there doesn't seem to be much agreement on what they really mean.

Are you referring to long-slow duration (LSD), or some other kind of general training which simply happens at the beginning of the training season in preparation for more specific training later?

If you're new to cycling, base miles isn't a bad thing. A lot of the conversation about base miles is in reference to people who ride a lot every year and don't really take the winter off. In that contect I agree they're a waste. But if you've just started then they're not going to hurt at all.

What are your goals?

normZurawski said:
If you're new to cycling, base miles isn't a bad thing. A lot of the conversation about base miles is in reference to people who ride a lot every year and don't really take the winter off. In that contect I agree they're a waste. But if you've just started then they're not going to hurt at all.

What are your goals?
Yes, I am new to cycling, been riding since Feb. Several of the guys around here seem to talk about building a "base" in the winter and then doing intervals and more serious drills come spring.