Basic commuter bicycle

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by kevind, Sep 27, 2006.

1. kevind

kevind New Member

I know that everyone here is quite serious about their cycling, but I have a fairly basic question and I would like a few expert opinions.

I am an American graduate student in England and need a bicycle for transport. I have been looking on the internet at different bikes and feel a bit lost. I live in an area with minimal hills and loads of bike paths. I am looking for a bicycle that is comfortable, lightweight, but has the ability to carry a bag of groceries on the back and will last at least four years.

This is listed on craigslist: http://london.craigslist.org/bik/208822287.html

That is ideally what I would like, I want to buy something second-hand since I am a poor poor student and $200-$300 is a lot of money. Although, I am willing to spend about that much because I want long-term durability. But it seems that the listing above is very overpriced (I contacted the seller and she said the bike is about 10 years old).

It would be great if I could hear some opinions (brand names, etc.) of options that would be available to me in the UK, if possible. I don't want to get ripped off and don't know the first thing of what to look at when purchasing a used bicycle!

-Kevin

PS I am 6'3" and not sure if that should be taken into account.

Tags:

2. Olden Crow

Olden Crow New Member