Beginner - advice from experts please? Please help....

Discussion in 'UK and Europe' started by The Oracle, Jun 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Oracle

The Oracle Guest

Hello, I am a beginner cyclist (okay, I had a Raleigh Chopper when I was a kid but we won't go
    there!!). I am also a runner and I am recovering from bad shin splints so I decided to go out on my
    bike for some exercise - a wrecked Peugeot "mountain bike". Guess what - I loved it and did about 50
    miles. I have done this about ten times so far and I find it great and marevlous for fitness. It
    doesn't stress the joints and bones as much as running and its great for my weight training becuase
    its great for my quad muscles in my legs

I am six feet two and mucular in the upper body and legs and weigh in at 15 stone. I am 35 years
    old. I am going to get riding a lot more but can I have some advice from you guys please? I see
    loads of cyclists on the road who seem to be on racing bikes. What are they doing and how many miles
    are they doing as a guess? I would like to do that too. What do I need? What kind of bike? Is it
    dangerous on the roads nowadays? Are there any clubs in Nottingham for someone like me - I am very
    dedicated. Any specific URL's for me to look at?

Thanks very much for any assistance. Steve Nottingham

Tags:

2. Peter B

Peter B Guest

"The Oracle" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > I see loads of cyclists on the road who seem to be on racing bikes. What are they doing and how
    > many miles
    are
    > they doing as a guess?

Having invested in a good quality road (racing as opposed to touring) bike I'd guess a "short" ride
    to be between 20 and 40 miles and a longish one 50 to 80 miles with the bit in the middle neither
    here nor there ;-) (or at least that's about what I do) The reason for arriving at this is because