beginner cadence and HR

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by chiefmd, Apr 18, 2011.

1. chiefmd

chiefmd New Member

I am new to road cycling and purchased a HR monitor and computer to monitor cadence. what should i be doing to stay in the 60-75% HR but with a cadence of 80 RPM. i will obviously be traveling at slower speeds to keep the HR down. How do I eventually get up to 18 MPH so I can keep up with a group and still have that heart rate at 60-75%? i am assuming that after so many weeks of traveling at 75% HR and 80 RPM that it will get easy and i can increase speed right? thanks for the help!

Tags:

2. daveryanwyoming

daveryanwyoming Well-Known Member

Personally I'd use the HR information more as a gauge of 'what you did' rather than a regulator of 'what you should be doing'. IOW, go out and ride, try to enjoy your riding, on days that you feel good challenge yourself to hold a faster pace, don't go crazy and make yourself puke on every hill but challenge yourself to ride a bit quicker to the point where it takes focus and your breathing becomes noticeable but not ragged or gasping. On days when you have more time and are feeling good challenge yourself to go further and find new routes. On days when you're a bit more tired but still want to ride go easier or shorter but try to ride pretty consistently as in four or five days per week even if some are easy.

Over time you can see how your HR responds to those efforts and can use it on the quicker days to help you know if you're really pushing as much as you have on previous quick days. On the easier days you can use it to limit your pace but in general you don't really need to hold back as much as you need to get out and ride. Hard efforts aren't a bad idea as long as they're fairly sustained and not a series of make ya puke sprints that aren't much fun and leave you too sore to ride on subsequent days.