Beginner Here w/ Awkward Question

NickBird

Dec 22, 2012
Hello Everyone,

I am super new to this stuff so you'll have to forgive me for this ridiculous question.

I've got a bike here at work (on an oil rig) with the most uncomfortable seat ever. I don't really know how to say this but... after about 30 minutes of riding my junk goes numb. It doesn't bother me too much but as a runner, I'm aware that small stuff like this over time can lead to big problems. So I guess my question is; is this normal at first? Like, do I have to toughen up and over time it gets better? Or is it something I need to figure out how to prevent. I've tried to buy padded shorts and it's helped a little.

I guess any suggestion regarding this would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Reactions: haleylx4
NickBird said:
Hello Everyone, I am super new to this stuff so you'll have to forgive me for this ridiculous question. I've got a bike here at work (on an oil rig) with the most uncomfortable seat ever. I don't really know how to say this but... after about 30 minutes of riding my junk goes numb. It doesn't bother me too much but as a runner, I'm aware that small stuff like this over time can lead to big problems. So I guess my question is; is this normal at first? Like, do I have to toughen up and over time it gets better? Or is it something I need to figure out how to prevent. I've tried to buy padded shorts and it's helped a little.