Beginner. How Often Should I Train?

Same here. I was just like you, hitting the road almost everyday when I was a beginner. Right now, I have to work a lot, and I get home completely exhausted, so I don't feel like biking so often. Maybe 2 or 3 days in a week is what I do now, specially on the weekends.

I would have to agree that a lot of things changes when one reaches adulthood more so family life. Priorities change and leisure sport activities like cycling are set aside for work and family life. But after some time, a couple of decades lol. You would get a second chance to relive your good old hobbies.

The flushing and panting will ease as you become fitter, and if sweat is an issue for you, try modern breathable cycle specific clothing which wicks away moisture, and then change into your civvies when you arrive at your destination. In any case, provided you shower before you leave home and wear clean clothes, a bit of sweating isn't such a big deal. Even after a 10 mile bike commute, I'm cleaner and fresher than colleagues who take the Tube.

Three times a week sounds like a good number to me. That's what I'm doing to improve my running. I run three times a week then walk or rest the other days. I would say, try training three times a week like you have planned and see how you feel while doing this. Maybe do it for a month before changing it up. You should always be evaluating your performance and making adjustments as you go. Don't worry about trying to be great at the beginning though. You need to just ride often and slowly increase your distance/speed/etc. as time goes on.
Do what feels right. No sense in setting up goals you cannot reach or that are too easy.