Beginner rider needs help.

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by abranaugh, Mar 16, 2011.

1. abranaugh

abranaugh New Member

Hey Everyone,

I need a lot of help. I am a 20 year old student and am looking for a bike that I will be able to use for fitness and eventually ride in some charity rides and hopefully, eventually get up to a century ride. I started riding last summer on my Dads Mongoose Crossway 250 (I think that is the model). Lately I have been doing a lot of biking on one of the upright bikes in the weight room here on campus. I would love to get a bike of my own and I would like a road bike. I like to bike on trails and the roads around here. Now I have no idea where to even start to begin looking. I know people have suggested going to my LBS and see what they say. I was just wondering though, what are some of the things I should be looking at when I am there? Also one of the major concerns is price. I would be willing to spend around $1,000 on everything (bike, accessories, electronics, all that stuff). Again I don't know exactly what I need to buy regarding that.

If someone could take the time and make a list of everything I would need to start biking around here, that would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,
    Adam

Tags:

2. 64Paramount

64Paramount Active Member

Besides the bike I would plan to buy:

Padded shorts
    Helmet
    Shoes
    Floor pump
    Chain lube

Small bike bag
    Extra tube
    tube patch kit
    Co2 Inflator or mini-pump
    Water bottle Cage and bottle

That should get you started. Then as you have the money to spend you can buy things like a bike computer, jerseys, etc.

3. abranaugh

abranaugh New Member

So I priced that all out, didn't go for the top of the line stuff but more mediocore and I have a few of those items, I have the following listed:

Paddd Shorts - $40-50
    Helmet - I have
    Shoes - $50-75
    Floor Pump - $20
    Chain lube - $5

Small bike bag - $10-25
    Extra Tube - $5-10