Beginner road bike sluggish

himynameismason

Oct 1, 2014
I'm new to road bikes and am trying to figure out how to make my bike feel smoother. I have a Tommaso Tiempo that I bought in college but have never been terribly satisfied with it. My Trek MTB is much more enjoyable to ride (and actually less work). What parts would you recommend upgrading to make the ride smoother and less sluggish? The crank is Tommaso made, and that is my first guess as to where to begin.

Your road bike will never be as smooth riding over the same pavement as a mountain bike. A MTB rides on a much larger volume of air and most have some type of suspension - they are built to soak up surface roughness.

You can get your road bike to ride a bit smoother using larger diameter and good quality tires. A more forgiving fork can also soak up vibration - but beware that upgrades - beyond tires - only result in small improvements, the cost of which could approach the purchase price of your bike.

If it is properly tuned: no dragging brakes, tight hubs, rubbing tires, proper air pressure and properly fitted, the most sluggish component would be the engine. Changing the crank, assuming the number of teeth in the chainring are the same, will result in no measureable improvement to the ride at your level.

Reactions: atlantis