Beginner

jacobrk

Dec 18, 2016
I'm sure these threads are a dime a dozen here so if I'm in violation of the rules or if there's a hub post for this type of thing let me know and I'll redirect myself.

I'm 24 y/o male, 280 lbs, 5'10. Despite my weight I feel fairly physically capable (obviously not as much so as someone at a healthy weight but I can move around).

I recently bought a Cannondale Quick 8 as recommended by my local bike shop and I'm loving it. It handles my weight just fine and maneuvers well.

Started with 5 miles last week and have biked every day since. Yesterday I did a ten mile ride in 55 min, all flat land.

My question is, since I have no experience to compare with, what should my goals be? What's more important, pace or distance (I have been measuring with Strava)? Is there a routine or suggested workout for getting fit and getting better at riding?

And of course any other newbie tips are appreciated.

What to do depends a bit on your goals.
But generally, TIME and EFFORT is more important than pace or distance.
For calorie burn and basic cardio, ride at a pace where talking begins to get difficult but still doable, for as long as possible or at least 45-60 minutes.

For maximal development you need to mix it up a bit. Shorter rides with interval training, longer steady pace rides, casual recovery rides.

Consider getting a heart rate monitor. Do a net search for "bicycle training program".

Pace and distance is only important when you're riding with a group, against the clock, or have a set distance you have to cover.

Reactions: CyclingJunkies
Apart from being 30Yrs older I am in the same boat as you. When I started I was doing 16km a day, just because it was a convenient round route back to my door. I rode at a pace that sounds remarkably similar to the one described by Dabac above.

As I progressed and my legs felt stronger I increased the distance at the same sort of effort intensity and kept doing so.