Best bike type for the city?

jonny4947

Aug 14, 2013
I'm moving to chicago to an area with some slightly larger 2 lanes going north on ashland and more narrow ones going east/west on grand ave or possibly chicago ave. Is there one bike type that really shines? Hybrid? Commuter? City/urban bike? road bike? some sort of single speed fixed gear? thanks.

WIll probably be going north on ashland 3 or 4 miles every now and again, so not always for short trips.

I'm pretty much a total noob here, but since no one else has replied yet and I am in the middle of a similar search myself (for commuting in Philadelphia), I'll toss in my $0.02 about the bikes I'm considering.

I'm looking mostly at "performance hybrids," or basically flat bar road bikes. These are essentially road bikes with flat handlebars vs. the drop bars typical of road bikes (for a more comfortable upright position and somewhat better visibility [of the rider, by motorists] in traffic), and generally somewhat thicker tires (range of roughly 28mm to 35mm). Because I may be commuting in less than ideal weather and in traffic, what I've read so far is making me lean toward disc brakes rather than the more standard V brakes, for enhanced stopping power. I honestly do not know if that is really necessary, but I've decided it's a preference... It does make the search a little tougher, and disc brake systems will generally add a bit of weight and cost to the bike. I'm considering models like the Bianchi Camaleonte 2 and 3, and the Trek 7.4 FX Disc.

Other stuff that has caught my eye in the performance hybrid class would be the Fuji Absolute line, Specialized Sirrus, Giant Escape, Cannondale Quick, etc.