Best Road Bike for Money

ttechnoholic

Feb 4, 2015
I live in California USA and I recently got into biking. Im looking into road bikes and need advice on my first road bike. I went to Sports Chalet and noticed Fuji Sportif 2.3 for $550 + 9% tax + $pedals + $50 bicycle care package for 2 years. Shortly after i went to my local bicycle shop. I was able to negotiate on the Giant Defy 3 for $700 flat which includes 1 year service on adjustments (derailer, wheel truing etc). Are there any other bikes that come close to these bikes i can't spend more than $700.. my original limit was $500 :/ ... i looked at bikesdirect.com motobecane mirage slx for $500 flat. Giant Defy 5 was $500 flat.. Any other bikes i should consider? I really loved how the Giant rides but i've heard that it's not the easiest bike to climb hills. Im new to this and i need help. Thank you !!

First off the Bikes Direct Motobecane Mirage SLX is not a good deal, that bike isn't giving you anything extra over the others.

Personally I would lean towards the Defy 3 because it has better components and fork than the Defy 5, and since Giant is making the Defy 3 anymore you get a great deal on a closeout model. The Defy 3 also got high reviews over the years they were made.

Froze said:
First off the Bikes Direct Motobecane Mirage SLX is not a good deal, that bike isn't giving you anything extra over the others.  Personally I would lean towards the Defy 3 because it has better components and fork than the Defy 5, and since Giant is making the Defy 3 anymore you get a great deal on a closeout model.  The Defy 3 also got high reviews over the years they were made.
Thanks for your advice. Today I test drove 2014 Trek 1.2 road bike. the guy is willing to sell it to me for same price. Apparently it has identical shimano sora components. i dont know much about bikes but the giant felt quicker and felt much more stable. Is it just me ? Or the giant defy 3 is just better engineered.