Best Road bike under $1000 (ideally $700)?

Trevor Jakes

Dec 17, 2005
(If this is not the proper forum for this question, please accept apology and redirect).

Hi, I’m commuting a *lot* on a mountain bike on flat city streets in Tucson, AZ. I’m going to go carless and want something better/faster.

Also, when I say under $1,000 that’s total, including shipping, tax, assembly/tune-up (I’m no mechanic), etc. Low maintenance is a priority as well. I’m willing to buy used if I can get it from a reputable source such as an e-Bay seller with a good sales history with no applicable negative feedback. And I really don’t have to spend $1,000 ($700 or less would be ideal).

I’ll be riding every day on flat pavement, but comfort is more important than. No snow (well, maybe 1 day every 7 years). Lots of rain in the summer/monsoon season. I don’t race and generally sprint only when I’m in a great mood or angry:)

CRITERIA:

Low maintenance
Comfortable (not like a “racer” – comfort is more important than speed, cross terrain okay for that? Recumbent?)
Good for everyday use
Any gears (don’t care: single speed or multi-gear – which is better for me?)

CONSIDERING:

Bianchi (Strata, Bergamo)
LandRider Deluxe or Elite
Trek (Portland)
Other suggestions?

Thanks!
-trev

PS: Some of the review sites like roadbikereviews.com look like they do too much e-commerce to review objectively (like a “shop now” button by each bike, plus sparse reviews and no editorial accountability – just like Amazon reviews). Cycling magazine and http://www.cyclingnews.com are for pros. Any ideas on good sites?