Best Value Mountain Bike Under $500?

poppa23

Aug 16, 2003
I recently received a K2 Cheyenne from my aunt for a present, but when I looked for it online I did not see any information for it anywhere. Anyways, I am able to return this bike to the department store and get cash back for it in which I can buy another bike from somewhere else. I was actually not really looking to spend much more than 350 on the bike (K2 was bought for 200) so I was looking at the '04 Giant Rincon and '04 Trek 4300? Is it worth returning my K2 or should I get another bike? The Trek is $319 and the Giant is $339. Any other bikes I should look at? Btw, I am a newbie rider looking to get into biking. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated! THANKS!

Actually, I found out my LBS has financing options and they recommended to me to look at the Cannondale F600 for 1099 and also the Santa Cruz Chameleon R-Kit for around 1400. Any opinions on any of those bikes?

The Cannondale F600 is an amazing bike, good company and great value. It looks good too, so do not leave it on any Chicago parking meter or parts will disappaer. Santa Cruz is also an impressive company and extremely high end.

The Santa Cruz is twice the bike the Canondale is. Better handling, more stable, rock solid. With the R kit you don't get any exotic components but everything will work like it's supposed to. Have fun, just don't go too far into debt. Then you'll have to work more to pay for the junk and not have as much time to ride (listen to my voice of experience). Keep the rubber side down.

K.

I really do want the Santa Cruz after trying it and everything...plus i get 90 days to pay the sucker off and i'm putting in around 800 down...do you think I should go for it or is there another bike anyone recommends lower in price than the Santa Cruz?