Beware of the Desperado

cycling guy1

May 25, 2011
I employed Jalon Hawk (real name Laurence B. Gust) of Desperado Cycles in Deerbrook Wisconsin to create a custom bicycle for me. 22 months and over $14,500 later (yes, I'm an idiot) all I've received are excuses, demands for more money and verbal lashings for being unwilling to pay more for the work of a "master builder".

Be afraid. Be very afraid.

You didn't get a written contract, did you? Did you check any independent reviews? Desperado Cycles is not BBB accredited. While this is not the same as having a score of F, there must be some reason that they did not seek BBB accreditation.

[COLOR= #0000ff][SIZE= 12px]Awww, Cycling Guy, I feel so bad for you![/COLOR][/SIZE]

[COLOR= #0000ff][SIZE= 12px]I really, REALLY hate dishonest people, having been the victim of a few of them, myself, before I got older and a little wiser.[/COLOR][/SIZE]

[COLOR= #0000ff][SIZE= 12px]Keeping in mind that I'm not a lawyer..... The first thing I would do is what you're doing -- go on every cycling forum you can find, and lay out the truth about this creep. Make sure you can prove everything you say, though I doubt he would sue you, since the last thing he wants is publicity.[/COLOR][/SIZE]