Bicycle computer auto trip reset

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Johannes43, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. Johannes43

    Johannes43 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have over the past years had many different bicycle computers, many with medium-end and some high-end. The best I have ever had was my first and most basic because it had one single feature, automatically resetting the trip counter after 6 hours of inactivity. (Also no buttons, so when I take it out of my bag/pocket it hasn't reset everything, or changed to french...)

    Anyone know any computer I can buy with this simple feature?

    The one I had back in the day was something from Sigma Sport (not sure which) a Google search results in a Vetta V30 having this feature, but it is probably 10 years old and cant be bought...

    Tips?

    Thanks!
     
    Tags:


  2. CAMPYBOB

    CAMPYBOB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    11,945
    Likes Received:
    1,038
  3. Bob Ross

    Bob Ross New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    4
    I own what is probably the least sophisticated Sigma currently (or at least recently) made, the BC906...and it does not have that feature. So you'll at least have to get something a bit swankier than that.
     
  4. Johannes43

    Johannes43 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for you for your replies Campybob and Bob Ross. I don't mind about them having more features, just as long as the buttons/menus are logical and labeled. I looked at the BC906 too (assuming more basic ones could have the feature), also looked around for cheap ones on eBay, but didn't find any.

    I decided to look in my box of random old bicycle stuff, and I was amazed to find it! In case anyone else is interested, it is a "Sigma Sport Baseline 300" (manual here: http://www.sigmasport.com/en/allgemein/showdatei/?download=1&name=98_1_Baseline300_99.pdf). I put in a new battery, configured size and it works great (now mounted on my bike).

    I guess the most basic very old speedometers may have this feature, probably due to the lack of buttons on the front.

    As I won't be able to use the speedometer for ever I guess I will send an email to Sigma Sport request such a feature (shouldn't be too had to implement as an optional feature).

    If you would also like this feature, send them an email too!

    Thanks,
     
  5. roboco

    roboco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi everyone!

    I am also looking for a bicycle computer with the "auto trip reset" function. I contacted sigma: they do not have a single one in their current program which supports that function.

    any news about a new product from another company?

    thanks,

    rasmus
     
  6. Johannes43

    Johannes43 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm glad you contacted Sigma. Maybe they will consider adding this feature. I'm still using the old one I found. Works like a charm. It has hit the hard ground many times without taking any damage!

    Old Sigma Sport Baseline 300 may not be impossible to acquire though. I saw one for sale at a second hand/thrift store recently. I hope you find something with this feature, and if you do, let us know so others can find it too.
     
  7. roboco

    roboco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi!

    honestly I think Sigma doesn't give a .... about adding this feature. their reply was really like: "you can hit a button to reset" ...that was it.

    I am searching on sites like dx.com and hope that models like this one http://dx.com/p/1-7-lcd-electronic-bicycle-speedometer-1xcr2032-101787 maybe do the job.

    I just cannot believe that this simple feature is not available in any computer anymore. In the recent sigma models it take at least 5 or more seconds to reset .... every morning!

    I will let you know when I found something!

    greetings!

    rasmus
     
  8. alienator

    alienator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    12,596
    Likes Received:
    160
    I think you'll find most people don't think having auto-reset is a big deal, especially given how many folks and computers record data. As for taking 5 seconds, that's only a loss of 6/100000 of your day.
     
Loading...
Loading...