Bicycle Helmet Research

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by greymatter, Nov 2, 2012.

1. greymatter

greymatter New Member

Hey everyone,

I'm a researcher at a Loughborough University in the UK and i am hoping to get some insight from bike users like yourselves about bicycle helmets. I have a link to a 2min questionnaire that i would be grateful if you could fill out to help inform my direction.

http://bit.ly/TWu1jI

The survey/questionnaire is informal and although some answers may seem obvious it would be really good to get peoples responses.

Thanks in advance

Dr Jonah B

Tags:

2. dabac

dabac Well-Known Member

Some questions were a bit silly, like that of a folding helmet. Sure, if that feature is available I wouldn't turn it down. But I wouldn't go looking for it special.

3. greymatter

greymatter New Member

thanks for filling it in dabac and thanks for the feedback.

4. dabac

dabac Well-Known Member

And also:
    - I regularly, if not always, ride myself, and subsequently my helmet sweaty. I'd happily pay a bit extra for a helmet with easily removable (and washable) straps and padding. Apart from fit, and the helmet not being ridiculously pricey, this is pretty much the first thing I look for.
    - Safety isn't easy to do anything about, pretty much all helmets are tested against, and fulfil the same standard these days. More protection would, unles you're an amazing engineer, mean either more weight or less ventilation - both of which impacts comfort. Looks tricky.
    I've considered going to a full-face helmet, but the social stigma has so far gotten the best of me.

5. coolcamaro12

coolcamaro12 New Member

I would love to have a helmet that is very small (in form factor), and very minimalist. It drives me somewhat crazy how bulky they are, but I would not risk my safety over not wearing a helmet. Also, as another poster pointed out, easily removable straps and pads would be nice. After a year or so they start to get nasty.