Bicycle Licencing AGAIN

• Thread starter Claire Petersky
  • Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
On 7 Jun 2003 06:18:18 -0700, [email protected] (Claire Petersky) ranted:

>Here's the article, along with a lot of motorist wingeing about bicycles:

Thank you for posting that. Very interesting. As a former cop, I especially was interested
in this question/answer:

Q. If bicycles are legal vehicles and cyclists have a right to the road, why are they not stopped
and ticketed for infractions like running stop signs?

R. King County Sheriff's Sgt. Kevin Fagerstrom admits that law-breaking cyclists are less likely to
get pulled over than stop-sign-running drivers. "It's prioritization of work on the part of the
police," he said. "Bicycles do not portray a great risk to the motor vehicles as far as injury."
Fagerstrom did agree that writing a cyclist a ticket now could prevent a major accident in the
future, but going after vehicular violations is a bigger priority for law enforcement. That being
said, he's pulled over cyclists before and will do it again.

I was not a prolific ticket-writer mainly because I worked a very busy precinct, didn't
enjoy doing it, and I am lazy. But I too used to write cyclists for some of the more
dangerous offenses such as running red lights, stop signs etc. That began when I covered an
accident in about 1970 or so, where a 16 year old girl had gone through a stop sign without
stopping and was struck by a car. When I arrived, I pushed through the crowd and stooped
down to check her injuries while waiting for the ambulance. She was responsive and didn't
seem to be in much pain. I saw that someone's leg was next to her face and pushed it to make
the person move out of the way, then realized it was her own leg. I still can see it. Did I
write her? No, and I don't think anyone would blame me for not putting a ticket on her tummy
in the ambulance. She and her parents had enough to worry about. But afterward, I made sure