Big Dummy Vs. Yuba Mundo Frame Sets

gofearstan

Jun 30, 2015
A Big Dummy frame set retails for $950 where as a Yuba Mundo frame set retails for $550. Is the Big Dummy frame really that much better? What are you paying for besides name, marketing, etc?

I've been riding (and loving) my Big Dummy for several years. Last year a friend of mine was looking to get a long tail cargo bike and asked the exact same question. Neither of us had seen a Yuba in person (nobody carries them in Hawaii), so I told her the things I read online that swayed me to pick the Big Dummy: frame weight, quality of components, frame geometry, frame material. In all aspects the big dummy is way ahead. In the end, price won out and my friend got the Yuba. She has been riding it for a year, and I can tell you that is is a fine bike - but the big dummy is much better. The yuba is HEAVY, and the front fork is nowhere near as strong as the Big Dummy. You don't notice it hauling kids or light loads - but throw an adult on the back and the fork flex will freak you out. Same goes for the brakes - the Yuba does not have disk brakes, and stopping can be terrifying with big loads. The components are cheap, and will need a lot of attention to keep them running smoothly. That said, if you are hauling light children on short trips, the yuba should be fine. I do feel that even though it is more expensive, the Big Dummy is a better value when you consider quality and long-term use.

I find that the dummy is sportier, like a mountain bike and the Mundo is more like a city bike. I have ridden a Yuba with an (total 250lbs) adult and a child on the back, and it was very comfortable, but the upright position is clearly designed for those who like to take their time.