Big Guy Wheels!

Wanna Tri

Aug 25, 2005
Ok Folks, I need help --- I am buying a Giant TCR AERO 2, (2003), but I am concerned about the Shimano 16 spoke wheels.

Being 6'1", 265, I am looking for a STRONG tire - weight is NOT A CONCERN -- strength is!

I am a STRONG rider - that attacks hills out of saddle, and I have been doing this for months on my MTB -- now that I am making the transistion -- I need some help!

I look forward to hearing what you have to say!

Bob

If price is no object and you can get ahold of a good wheel builder, build up some wheels on Phil Wood 36 spoke hubs, with high grade stainless steel spokes. I suspect the builder would give best advice as to rims. Another alternative which I saw on the forums was the use of tandem wheels, or touring wheels. Just some ideas, I have no experience in this area.

http://www.philwood.com/

Wanna Tri said:
Ok Folks, I need help --- I am buying a Giant TCR AERO 2, (2003), but I am concerned about the Shimano 16 spoke wheels.

Being 6'1", 265, I am looking for a STRONG tire - weight is NOT A CONCERN -- strength is!

I am a STRONG rider - that attacks hills out of saddle, and I have been doing this for months on my MTB -- now that I am making the transistion -- I need some help!

I look forward to hearing what you have to say!

Bob
Talk to Mike Garcia at oddsandendos.com - I've never purchased from him, but I know people who have, and they have been VERY happy with him. His prices are reasonable, and his wheels are nice. I'd give him a call, tell him your weight, and he'll be able to build something that'll support you.