Big Legs!

peterwillcock

Apr 10, 2006
Ok. I've been riding bikes for many years now, but never really took it too seriously. I only ever did it for a bit of fun and to enjoy the fresh air! I got a great deal on a top end bike from a friend of mine and now want to pursue the sport as competitively as possible.

Here's my problem though! I've always done "power" sports that involved serious lower body strength (rugby, soccer, basketball etc), and as a result, I have huge thighs and calfs. As I have gotten faster and fitter on the bike, I have started to do more and more climbing but I am worried that this kind of training is going to make my legs even bigger. I see a lot of the top competitors with very muscular but slender legs. If i keep climbing, will my legs slim down or continue to grow?!!

Any training advice would come in useful here. Thanks!

Peter

It is really hard to tell since all people's bodys are effected differently by different types of training.

I've looked at the Pro Tour cyclists and most of them have muscular legs--but they aren't large by any stretch when compared to those of the typical body builder. Assuming you're cycling as part of an all-around fitness program I would expect your body to slim down (legs included).

--Steve

peterwillcock said:
Ok. I've been riding bikes for many years now, but never really took it too seriously. I only ever did it for a bit of fun and to enjoy the fresh air! I got a great deal on a top end bike from a friend of mine and now want to pursue the sport as competitively as possible.