Bike Build-Up Question

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by RBS, Dec 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RBS

RBS New Member

Hi all,
    As a winter project I am buying a carbon fiber frame and transferring all the components from my 2002 cannondale r500 over to it. I'm a pretty good mechanic and have the tools but I thought I'd ask all you experts out there if there are any words of wisdon that you care to lay on me for this project. The new frame comes with fork and headset installled already. One piece i'll have to change is the front derailler from the existing clamp on to a braze on unit. the component group is tiagra with sti shifters.

thanks all

bob

Tags:

2. daveornee

daveornee New Member

http://www.parktool.com/repair_help/FAQindex.shtml
    http://sheldonbrown.com/articles.html
    Barnetts Repair Manual
    are all good sources of help

3. Ted Bennett

Ted Bennett Guest

> Hi all, As a winter project I am buying a carbon fiber frame and transferring all the components
    > from my 2002 cannondale r500 over to it. I'm a pretty good mechanic and have the tools but I
    > thought I'd ask all you experts out there if there are any words of wisdon that you care to lay on
    > me for this project. The new frame comes with fork and headset installled already. One piece i'll
    > have to change is the front derailler from the existing clamp on to a braze on unit. the component
    > group is tiagra with sti shifters.
    >
    > thanks all
    >
    > bob

Don't clamp the frame into a bicycle repair stand. Clamp it by the seat post instead.

--
    Ted Bennett Portland OR

4. Paul Kopit

Paul Kopit Guest

On 8 Dec 2003 07:32:16 +1050, RBS <[email protected]> wrote:

>Hi all, As a winter project I am buying a carbon fiber frame and transferring all the components
    >from my 2002 cannondale r500 over to it. I'm a pretty good mechanic and have the tools but I