Bike buying advice! Noob here, please help a new member!

bone811

Jul 31, 2012
Hello all! New member here, this seems like a great forum with lots of great info and educated riders, glad to be a member. I'm fairly new to road biking, been riding the last year, a couple 20-30 mile rides a week with a few shorter rides sprinkled in. I have been riding an old Centurion Lemans till it was stolen a couple days ago and now need to get a new bike. Don't have that much to spend, but was looking to buy a used bike. Have around 500-700. Been trying to find a Fuji Roubaix, Giant TCR, or Specialized Allez the last couple days off CL, but haven't seen anything that is the right size/condition/price yet. But, I came across a Giant Avail 2012 and the guy was asking 600, said he would sell it for 500. Looks like they cost around 1200 new, does that sound right? Good bike for a person trying to get more into the sport? Worth 500 if in great shape? Thanks for any advice you may have

http://chicago.craigslist.org/chc/bik/3176384726.html

There are about 10 different models of the Avail so I don't know exactly which one this is, however, the bike looks good and they all cost over $500. If it is the right size, see if he will let you take it to your LBS for a once over to ensure that all is as it should be. If it is all OK, then jump on it for $500. The LBS will be able to tell you if it has been crashed or if there are any structural or mechanical issues that need to be taken care of. There might be a small charge for the once over but just chalk it up to "better safe than sorry".

This is a stock photo, so it's anyone's guess what the bike actually looks like.

The photo shows SRAM Apex, which gives you a wide range 10-speed cassette with a compact double chainset. Cool. Street price for new ones is around $1150-1300, so $500 looks good if everything works and it fits you.