Bike Carrier ????

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Swellens

can anyone recommend a bike carrier that doesn't cost an arm and a leg to buy, I was pricing
racks like the Thule for my Honda Civic Hatchback and would end up coughing up over $400 for
just one bike.

I have an Allen 2 bike-rear bike rack that I have been using for over 10 years on 2 different
vehicles over the years with no problems at all. The rack cost me in 1991 $49.00. I thought I was
going to have a problem because the car I have been driving for the last 4 years has a rear deck
spoiler, but with repositioning the rack it hugs the spoiler and actually sits more solidly on my
2nd car than my first.

swellens thoughtfully penned:
> can anyone recommend a bike carrier that doesn't cost an arm and a leg to buy, I was pricing
> racks like the Thule for my Honda Civic Hatchback and would end up coughing up over $400 for just
> one bike.

I got a really nice one that works great on my hatch back at a yard sale for $12.

Penny

On Thu, 26 Jun 2003 14:42:03 GMT, "swellens" <[email protected]> wrote:

>can anyone recommend a bike carrier that doesn't cost an arm and a leg to buy, I was pricing
>racks like the Thule for my Honda Civic Hatchback and would end up coughing up over $400 for just
>one bike.

I have the Yakima, on all my cars and you can find some great deals at local car lots, they always
take them off used cars they are selling. They sell them really cheap. Purchase one, it doesnt
matter for what vehicle it is off of. The real money is in the trays, bars, etc. Then all you have
to purchase is the tower for your type of car. Also you can do the EBAY thing.

"swellens" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:<%[email protected]>...
> can anyone recommend a bike carrier that doesn't cost an arm and a leg to buy, I was pricing
> racks like the Thule for my Honda Civic Hatchback and would end up coughing up over $400 for just
> one bike.