Bike Commuting

annette pfautz

Jul 16, 2003
Hi!

I'm new to the cycling forum, so hopefully I'm doing everything right...

I commute to work on a regular basis and would like to know what other women do to make the transition from riding a bike to work "mode" a smooth one. I'm researching this topic for an article I'm writing on bike commuting and would love any/all information anyone is willing to share.

For myself, I bring a skirt or slacks in my saddle bag and change when I get to work. Things are really casual where I work so I don't care too much about wrinkled clothing, windblown hair or the occasional mud splatter on the back of a shirt. Oh, and I try not to sweat, too much:) though I have heard of some people who keep baby wipes at work to help in that department.

I'd appreciate any input.

Annette

I work at a college so there's a gym & showers so if I go too fast I can rinse off (it just happens); I can also get away with shirt & slacks in the backpack or baskets ("I won't go anywhere I can't be wrinkled").

Originally posted by Geonz
I work at a college so there's a gym & showers so if I go too fast I can rinse off (it just happens); I can also get away with shirt & slacks in the backpack or baskets ("I won't go anywhere I can't be wrinkled").

Hey! Thanks for your reply. I'm usually pretty wrinkled (clothes and otherwise) myself. What the hell:)

There's a whole bunch of threads on this (although not necessarily specific to female clothing), but the concepts are similar:

1. Leave as much as posible at work (shoes, tolietries, makeup...)
2. Take extra stuff when you don't ride (hand in hand with 1.)
3. Make sure you have healthy snacks available at work (you will get hungry).
4. Ask your work to provide an iroing board and iron. (<$100)
5. Spend the money you save on tickets, petrol etc. on lights, tyres, reflectors etc. to make your trip more enjoyable.

Originally posted by annette pfautz