Bike Computer Question

codejockey

Apr 9, 2010
Hello all, sorry to ask such beginner question, but as I'm new to cycling (at least as an adult), I'm interested in tracking my progress for the purposes of training, increasing distance, speed, etc. I realize that a computer could help me with that. My question though, I have a Garmin eTrex Summit HC GPS that I use for geocaching. It has trip computers, tracks routes, distance, speed, etc. My question is, can I utilize that as a bike computer? I mean it wouldn't give me cadence, but will something like that give me most of what I'm needing, or should I just bite the bullet and buy a computer and be done with it? Thanks!

codejockey said:
Hello all, sorry to ask such beginner question, but as I'm new to cycling (at least as an adult), I'm interested in tracking my progress for the purposes of training, increasing distance, speed, etc. I realize that a computer could help me with that. My question though, I have a Garmin eTrex Summit HC GPS that I use for geocaching. It has trip computers, tracks routes, distance, speed, etc. My question is, can I utilize that as a bike computer? I mean it wouldn't give me cadence, but will something like that give me most of what I'm needing, or should I just bite the bullet and buy a computer and be done with it? Thanks!

To be quite honest, bite the bullet and get a computer. I have a Garmin 4Runner that I use when I go running. It worked fine as a computer on the bike as well, but there were disadvantages:

- having to mount it every time I wanted to use it
- first minute or so I didn't have any data as the GPS took time to acquire a signal
- bulky
- didn't keep a true record of my total riding distances (as the totals included my running, walking too etc)