Bike Lights

jverweijen

May 27, 2012
He everybody, I need your help. I'm am a student at the Technical University of Delft and I'm studying Industrial Design. I need to know a few things about bike lights and especially the requirements for them that people have in the States. In the end I have to come up with a new concept for a Dutch company that wants to introduce themselves in the USA. So can you help me by maybe answering a few of these questions: What type of lights do you use? (detachable?) and why? Where do you use them for? (to see or be seen?) What do you expect in terms of lifetime? What do you think is a good idea for bike lighting? Maybe some other stuff that's on your mind? Those are my questions and I would like to thank you in advance for helping me out! Jur

Amazing power is useless if used wrong. In my opinion a person cannot have too many tail lights, mixing steady and flashers. Power dazzle gets more space in the american context. Forward lighting is directly related to your scenario, therefore you need to determine your maximum need. If you ride faster and in less lighting areas or in higher traffic you will want a power bright high beam. If you are in a city where there is a lot of street lights or an area without much traffic, lower light/marker light is more feasible.

Wheel lighting is a helpful thing for side view and sometimes fore/aft. Due to the wide range of motion afforded by a valve stem mounted unit, they are very effective at attention grabbing. Lastly, a reflective vest is a good idea.

My general use setup is a 30 watt halogen dual beam Niterider with integrated 1 watt LED tail unit. It has proven effective up to 3 hrs of ride time with the current battery and is bright enough that cars think its a motorcycle sometimes ;)

@Conniebiker: