Bike Lock Suggestions??

grindr82

Sep 4, 2011
I was thinking of purchasing two of the Kryptonite New York fahgettaboutit mini's along with the pinhead skewers on my tires, seat post, handle bar stem. My bike is a $1300 bike and I will be using it daily commuting to and from work, I am working on getting my boss to allow me to keep it inside of our second break room...but in case that doesn't happen...Id like to protect it the best that I can..It will be parked in one of two places (if not inside) either at the bus depot( I am a bus driver) which has a police officer/ security guard there almost all day, the bike rack is located near a window where its easily seen by anyone in the office or at our bus yard which is a less than desirable area to lock it up....too many transients and general public cutting through the yard even though they aren't supposed too.
I have done some research on U-locks but figured I would ask people commute and that have hands on experience with different locks.

Any suggestions, opinions, or advice?

I commute to work when the weather is good, but I bring it into my office. But I do go other places where I need to lock up the bike.

The best way to lock up a bike is to use two different kind of locks that would take two different kinds of tools to defeat.

The Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboutit is the probably the best lock on the market, but I wouldn't get the mini I would get a larger one. The reason for the larger one is because if you lock it the way this website I'm going to give you tells you to you need it. See: http://www.missinglink.org/page/how-lock-bike This is a far better way to lock your bike then any other method. In order to lock your bike up like that you'll need a 8" long shackle, the Kryptonite New York Std has the 8" shackle. Some people take their front rim in with them to work, that's up to you.