Bike only path in Sydney

ca6leguy

Oct 31, 2007
I'm new to cycling and I'm getting myself a mountain bike. I'm not confident enough to cycle on the road yet as there are far to many crazy drivers in Sydney. I know about the Sydney Olympic Park and the Centenial Park but I'm also looking for some in the Hills area near where I live. Is there a good map that shows all the available bike only path in Sydney?

ca6leguy said:
I'm new to cycling and I'm getting myself a mountain bike. I'm not confident enough to cycle on the road yet as there are far to many crazy drivers in Sydney. I know about the Sydney Olympic Park and the Centenial Park but I'm also looking for some in the Hills area near where I live. Is there a good map that shows all the available bike only path in Sydney?
The RTA has downloadable maps which are quite reasonable. From the Hills district you should take a look at the M7.

//k

ca6leguy said:
Thanks for that. The M7 cyclepath looks good. Which access point do you recommend. ie a place where I can park my car.
I'll leave this to someone else - I live at Georges Hall which is about 15k from the Southern end of the M7 - I don't know the northern end well enough to know what's the best entry for where you are.

I'm sure someone else will chip in with advice.

/k

I don't think there's any bike only paths in Sydney. You'll always find pedestrians on them.

ca6leguy said:
Thanks for that. The M7 cyclepath looks good. Which access point do you recommend. ie a place where I can park my car. I also found this posted on bikely. http://www.bikely.com/maps/bike-path/Bike-Paths-Only-Winston-Hills-Crestwood-loop Has anyone tried this route?

Have a look at the M7 phamplet at http://www.westlinkm7.com.au/documents/brochures/Westlink_Cycleway_Pamphlet.pdf

Access no 61 Gavin Pl Kings Langly has a big park and lots of on street parking. The M7 is a great bike facility with 40km of no cars and no intersectons, but there are some pedestrians and some tight corners.