Bike protection

Kakashi

Feb 3, 2018
Have you ever had your bike stolen? How do you protect your bike?

Never, and all I've used was a simple cable lock which is the worse kind to use to prevent theft. I've been using that same cable and lock for about 40 years. Of course if you live in a major city with high crime then I can't recommend a cable lock system, but the places I lived were low crime rate cities, I did live in Los Angeles for awhile but I rode a beater to college instead of the good bike, and when I worked in LA I had my own office so I just put my bike in my office.

For a modern lock if I were to buy one today I would probably get the LiteLok, I don't have to worry about how to mount it on my bike or put it in a pack pack I can simply wear it around my waist. Little expensive but it will do the trick. The only thing about ANY lock is that they are all subject to an attack from an angle grinder which would chew up the strongest lock in less than a minute.

To be frank, the bike is not safe in our place. Even inside the village, you cannot be too trusting as to leave your bike on the side of the road with no one monitoring. You need a lock or have someone watch over it otherwise it may be gone in 5 minutes. The problem with bike stealing is that there are shops that buy second hand bikes. The thief could easily make money by bringing the stolen bike and sell it to the shop. Anyway, a good luck with a strong chain around the tire of the bike can be a good protection that will discourage the thief.