Bike repairs

Regalia

Jan 8, 2016
U.S.A
Who actually repairs their own bike? I get my dad too. I'm not a mechanics type of person. I get bored easily and make up every excuse in the book to avoid messing with oil and chains. He doesn't mind. :) Same goes for repairing cars. It's like his hobby.

I repair my own bike but I havent got specialty bike tools like Shimano wrenches. I just go to the shop for these.

Changing hub bearings: 20 + 20 €. I Diy'd and it costed 5 for the grease and another 5 for the bearings for both. :D

Yeah I do repair it my self. :D

I'm feeling pretty lazy right now and have had some bike maintenance staring at me for a while. I can repair/maintain everything on the bike but have put some stuff off. I did do my chains yesterday. Took off and put into solvent and then waxed them. I have a new fork staring at me that needs installed but I am just not into doing it. My front fender broke off at the bottom and I need to do a Ghetto fix (duct tape and epoxty) until I can buy a new one. Most of my maintenance time recently has been wasted trying to convert to tubeless tires with sealant inside. PITA. Orange replaceable valves are garbage.

Fork is done. Tubeless conversion is a works in progress because it leaks but no problem. I'll get it done

The fender broke again. POS

I'm ditching the SKS plastic and going to aluminum fenders.

None of this is hard but few bike shops want to do this kind of work nor do they have employees capable.

I don't remember tinkering with my bike ever since. There's always someone to do it for me like a flat tire or a broken tire. Even the adjustment of saddle is too hard for me so I ask somebody to adjust it to my desired height. For major repairs, I bring the bike to the shop especially when there is a needed spare parts. But for minor, it can be my husband or anyone in the neighborhood with a golden heart.