Bike Service - Justified?

Discussion in 'UK and Europe' started by Caher, May 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Caher

Caher New Member

Hi all,
    I’ve had my bike for a couple of years now and think its time it had a service. I regularly do checks (such as brakes, etc) but not being a professional I worry that I might miss something.
    I’m shortly going to do quote a long charity ride (Ridgeway) and was wondering if there was a real cost benefit I getting a service. Also my local bike shop seems to offer everything from a complete strip down to brake tightening, so I’m pretty mystified what level to go for.
    Any advice would be gratefully received.
    Cheers
    Caher.

Tags:

2. Tony Raven

Tony Raven Guest

In news:[email protected], Caher <[email protected]> typed:
    > Hi all, I've had my bike for a couple of years now and think its time it had a service. I
    > regularly do checks (such as brakes, etc) but not being a professional I worry that I might miss
    > something. I'm shortly going to do quote a long charity ride (Ridgeway) and was wondering if there
    > was a real cost benefit I getting a service. Also my local bike shop seems to offer everything
    > from a complete strip down to brake tightening, so I'm pretty mystified what level to go for. Any
    > advice would be gratefully received. Cheers Caher.
    >

After two years it could probably do with a bit of a strip down e.g regreasing wheel bearings etc.
    That will tend to be quite expensive though. For now its probably the quickest way but for the
    future get yourself a good maintainance guide and do it yourself. Done a bit at a time rather than
    in one big go is much less onerous.

Tony

--
    http://www.raven-family.com

"All truth goes through three steps: First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed.
    Finally, it is accepted as self-evident." Arthur Schopenhauer

3. Dave

Dave Guest